About Us

T

aylors records date back to 1255, around the time of King John and the Magna Carta. Taylors is a beautiful picturesque house, still retaining as a nucleus the timber open hall of the mid 13th century and also an oak screen of roughly gouged-out timbers and moulded beams of the same exceptionally early date.

There are beautiful panelled rooms of later date and the 15th, 16th and 17th century additions all present very interesting features.

It’s west wing is Medieval Dendro dated c1345 which was an extraordinary 2 bay open hall with apparently no floored ends, which is now a service wing to a later build.

Taylors main range c1457, a fine 2 bay open hall between cross wings of different builds.

Taylors east wing c1635, a 3 bay, jettied parlour wing with dropped tie construction and stair turret.

Taylors barn e16th century, a 3 bay 16th century barn, 1 bay added, then 2 bays added to the other end in the 18th century, opposing wagon entrances with an unusually complete frame with arched bracing on main posts, gunstock posts, queen post clasped purling roof.

The outer 18th century bays have queen struts and diagonal bracing. Amongst past residents are the Broadwood family of Piano fame and dating much further back into history Taylors has an association with the famous Knights Templar.

Copyright © 2015 - Taylors Farm Retreat